top of page

Our Travels through the Mountain States

We haven’t been everywhere, but it’s on our list

September 6 - October 2, 2020

This is my latest Travel Blog.  It will chronicle our travels through the Mountain States.  This is is a trip Kay and I have talked about for several years and has been in the planning for a year now. We decided to take a break from our world travel and see more of the U.S.  We have visited several of the states that are on this adventure, but we are looking forward to seeing the old places in more depth as well as visiting new places.  We invite you to join us on this journey through photographs, limited commentary and perhaps a few videos.  This is my first time using the WIX platform for a blog.  It really looks powerful, but of course it will have a learning curve for me.  As I have aged, it seems the learning curves are steeper and longer than they used to be, so bear with me!

The Mountain States generally are considered to include: Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming. The words "Mountain States" generally refer to the US States which encompass the US Rocky Mountains. These are oriented north-south through portions of the states of Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, Colorado, Utah, and New Mexico. Arizona and Nevada, as well as other parts of Utah and New Mexico, have other smaller mountain ranges and scattered mountains located in them as well.  The land area of the eight states together is some 855,767 square miles (2,216,426 square kilometers).

The Mountain West is one of the largest and most diverse regions in the United States. Most regional boundaries of the Mountain West are often looked at the area from the High Plains to the Sierra Nevada and Cascade Range. The southern and northern portions of the Mountain West are often split into two separate regions. The southern portion (Arizona and New Mexico) is often called the Southwest region, while the northern portion (Idaho and Montana) is often included in either the Northwest states or called the "Northern Rockies".


We will be visiting all of these states except Nevada.  To make up for missing Nevada, we will visit North and South Dakota as well as travel through western Nebraska.

To access the Blog entries, simply click on the link near the top of this page which surprisingly says "Blog Entries".

bottom of page